News Releases

Scholarship Recipients Announced

Community foundation awards scholarships

RUSSELL, Kan.— This year the Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) is pleased to announce over $375,000 in scholarships awarded through the Foundation to area students.

Every year, the need for scholarships is greater than the available resources. As tuition continues to rise, support of scholarships becomes even more important. RCACF is pleased to manage 12 scholarship funds.

These scholarships were established by donors who believe in the youth of our area and want to support their pursuit of higher education.

  • The Sean Paul Banks Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who are involved in sports their senior year and maintain high academic standards. The recipients of $450 scholarships are Kaitlyn Nichols and Renee Nichol.

  • The Adolph Boehler Student Aid Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School. Talia Seib and Briar Ulrich both received $1,000 scholarships.

  • The Doran and Bina Dole Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Kaitlyn Nichols received a renewable $2,500 scholarship, and Brayden Ford received a non-renewable $2,500 scholarship. Robert Jensen, Veronica Torres, and Garrett Ewers each received a renewed scholarship of $2,500.

  • The Kenneth V. Dumler Memorial Aid Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Kendra Bay received a $650 scholarship.

  • The Elaine Hilger Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School with an interest in music or a career in the medical field. Kaitlyn Nichols received a $1,000 scholarship and Cole Birky received a $700 scholarship.

  • The Joshua Scholarship is for students up to age 30 who are graduates from a high school in Russell County. This scholarship is a permanent endowment of several million dollars created by Dr. Starr F. Schlobohm, who desired to share his success in the oil and gas business with the Russell County area. Annual gifts from his education trust will help the scholarship fund grow to significant levels. A percentage of the fund is allocated annually to scholarships. Matthew Buhrle, Halle Hall and Kalli Pfeifer received $10,000 scholarships. Sixty students received $5,000 scholarships, including Dylan Peeler, Caden Pfeifer, Micah Nuss, Caleb Nuss, Shelby Ney, Brendon Buhrle, Kyleigh Kasper, Isabella Boxberger, Talia Seib, Cole Birky, Tandy Coleman, Kyle Lampert, Kaitlyn Nichols, Bailey Dollison, Braydon Gibson, Samantha Ptacek, Rylee Miller, Darian Klee, Layn Pasek, Samuel Ochs, Skylar Steinle, Grace Lumpkins, Ryan Birky, Lillian Rageth, Alayna Van Der Wege, Aubrey Larson, Koby Decker, Madison Whitfield, Brooks Nichols, Lauren Myers, Kaylee Hoss, Alaina Gfeller, Delainey Pospichal, Katherine Krauss, Taylor Powers, Chase Woelk, Renee Nichol, Emily Ridgley, Tiffany Dortland, Lily Alicia Garland, Samantha Leiker, Katherine Barney, Payden Leiker, Jacob Sohm, Samuel Nuss, Grace Betts, Jaclyn Schulte, Brayden Ford, Mackenzie Thomas, Briar Ulrich, Janae Schulte, Hayden Logsdon, Whitney Nuss, Kendra Bay, Jordynn Guenot, Abigail Cross, Jaidyn Banks, Megan Peeler, and Kameron Schneider. Four students received $3,000 scholarships, including Maria Hilger, Chandler Kitchen, Seth Boxberger, and Zachary Boxberger.

  • The Murphy Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors living in areas served by the following school districts: USD 299, 392, 399, 407 and 432. Rudolph (R.J.) Haberer and Haley Fallis received $335 scholarships.

  • The David Ochs Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Emily Ridgley and Kyle Lampert both received $1,000 scholarships.

  • The Pohlman Family Scholarship is for students graduating from USD 407 or USD 399. Carley Chriser and Madison Whitfield both received $500 scholarships.

  • The Paul E. Ruggels Memorial Scholarship is for college students who have graduated from Russell High School or Natoma High School, with preference to students pursuing a degree in a health care related field. Delainey Pospichal received a $1,700 scholarship.

  • The Ervin and Denzell Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who intend to earn a degree in education or agriculture. Aubrey Larson received a $640 scholarship.

For more information, please call Angela Muller, Executive Director, at 785-445-3611 or visit