In the News

Community foundation awards over $52,000 in spring grants

Tuesday, May 18th, 2021

Community foundation awards over $52,000 in spring grants

RUSSELL, Kan.— The Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) is pleased to award $52,869 in grants to 13 organizations that benefit the Russell County area. Funding comes from the Dane G. Hanson Community Grant Fund, the Kansas Health Foundation Children’s Fund, and the Fund for a Better Russell. The following organizations received funding:


  • Russell Regional Hospital, $4,470 to help fund Live Well Russell County.
  • USD 407, $7,500 for improvements to the Bickerdyke Elementary School playground.
  • City of Lucas, $2,800 to help fund Lucas Public Library’s new building furnishings.
  • Russell Regional Hospital, $2,050 to host a free health fair for local and area residents.
  • Smoky Hills Public Television, $1,000 to provide books to children, as well as purchase broadcast rights to children’s educational television programs.
  • Russell Arts Council, $1,000 to underwrite the stipends for the String Quartet for the premiere of the Trudy Furney Opera.
  • Russell Arts Council, $15,000 to replace current HVAC system and mini-split system in The Dream Theatre.
  • Catholic Charities of Northern Kansas, $3,000 to support Mobile Outreach Care for Russell County Residents.
  • Russell Public Library, $2,800 for funding to upgrade landscaping at the front of the library.
  • Developmental Services of Northwest Kansas, $2,350 to purchase video conference technology for the Kid-Link program in Russell County.
  • USD 407, $1,660 to purchase materials for the reading curriculum for kindergarten and first grade students.
  • USD 407, $4,000 to fund improving livestreaming of events on district’s social media platforms.
  • USD 299, $5,239 to purchase an OAE hearing screener for annual hearing screenings.


The Foundation’s next grant season is fall 2021 with applications due October 15. Please apply at For more information, contact Angie Muller, Executive Director, at 785.445.3611 or