In the News

Community foundation now accepting grant applications

Saturday, August 15th, 2020

Community foundation now accepting grant applications

RUSSELL, Kan.—The Russell County Area Community Foundation is now accepting applications for fall grants. Online applications are due October 15, 2020.

Last fall, the community foundation awarded USD 407 a grant to bring Reality U to Russell High School. Reality U is a program that works with students to implement financial goals and help them understand money management, the different sources of income, and the relationship between income and career prep. This project is significant because students will soon be on their own with these responsibilities.

This program reached 130 students; students learned what the real world was like in simulation. Grantee Rashelle Schlyer said, “This grant was a tremendous influence on our project’s effectiveness because it is something we would not have been able to do without these funds. The students talked about their experiences and frequently asked, ‘Is life REALLY like this?’ “

This year, more than $100,000 is available for charitable community improvement projects within Russell County and communities served by USD 399 and USD 407. This cycle will fund local community projects that meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Programs and projects that address education, health care, community social services and security, conservation and environment, arts and culture, and community beautification.
  • Projects that improve the health and well-being of children living in the Russell County area.
  • Programs and projects that aid students enrolled in preschool and grade school in Russell County who need assistance in order to obtain their education.
  • Programs and projects which directly benefit the students of the Russell schools and which would not be considered a normal or necessary budget item for basic education.

Funding for the fall grant cycle is provided by the Dane G. Hansen Community Grant Fund, the Kansas Health Foundation, the Helen A. Hample Student Aid Fund and the Russell Schools Apple Seed Fund. Grants are limited to the Russell County area and communities served by USD 399 and USD 407. Nonprofit organizations including government and public entities, educational institutions, and churches are encouraged to apply. Applications must be submitted online by 11:59 p.m. on October 15. Complete funding criteria and the grant application are available at