Fund for a Better Russell County Area (Unrestricted Community Grant Fund)

The Fund for a Better Russell County Area is an unrestricted community grant fund created by  individuals who have contributed money to the  Foundation for charitable uses to address the present and future needs of the Russell County area. From this endowed fund, the Foundation Board annually  determines community grants from a competitive grant application process.  This fund is perfect  for donors who wish to make an impact in their community, but do not have a  specific cause in mind.

Donors who make a contribution of $5,000 or more to the Fund for a Better Russell County Area will receive permanent name recognition.

Dane G. Hansen Foundation
Floyd L. Bear Estate
First Baptist Church
Catherine Holland
George Holland
Nancy Holland
Michael & Tonya Murphy
Martin H. Myers
Russell High School Class of 1943
United National Bank

Leaving his Legacy…


Floyd Leroy Bear was a quiet individual who loved Russell County. A lifelong member of our community, you could often see him walking down Main Street waving to friends and strangers alike. It was said Floyd never knew a stranger and treated everyone as an equal.

Floyd was born on October 13, 1929 in rural Russell County to Chester and Anna Fay (Newcomer) Bear. He was raised on a family farm and farmed most of his life with the exception of a short time in the United States Army. He loved being a farmer, tinkering with his farm equipment and roaming the pasture with his beloved dog.

When Floyd passed away in February 2011, he showed his love for his community by leaving an estate gift to the Fund for a Better Russell County Area. His gift will support emerging needs in Russell County and preserve the rural way of life that Floyd so loved for future generations to enjoy.